

Catholic Diocese of Sioux Falls

Chancery

523 N. Duluth Ave. Sioux Falls, SD 57104-2714 (605) 988-3798 (605) 334-2092 fax malthoff@sfcatholic.org

Priest Assignment Changes

The Most Reverend Donald E. DeGrood has decreed the following appointments effective July 1, 2022:

Those who will be continuing ministry as Senior Priests:

Reverend Charles L. Cimpl, granted his request to retire from his assignment as Pastor, Holy Spirit, Sioux Falls.

Reverend Cathal Gallagher, granted his request to retire from his assignment as Pastor, St. Paul, Marty, St. Mark, Lake Andes, and St. Paul, Armour.

Reverend David Krogman, granted his request to retire from his assignment as Chaplain, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Medical Center.

Those who will be serving in new pastoral and specialized/chaplaincy ministry assignments:

Reverend Timothy Cone from Parochial Vicar of St. Mary and Sacred Heart Parishes and St. Thomas Aquinas Newman Center, Aberdeen to Parochial Administrator of Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, Leola, Holy Cross Parish, Ipswich, and St. Thomas the Apostle Parish, Roscoe.

Reverend Kristopher Cowles from Priest Director of St. Thomas More Newman Center to Pastor, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, Sioux Falls and Vicar for Hispanic Ministry.

Reverend Brian Eckrich from Parochial Vicar at St. Mary Parish, Dell Rapids, St. Rose of Lima Parish, Garretson, and St. Joseph the Workman Parish, Huntimer to Parochial Administrator at St. Rose of Lima Parish, Garretson and St. Joseph the Workman Parish, Huntimer and Sacramental Minister to the South Dakota State Penitentiary and Chaplain to *Mater Ecclesiae* Monastery.

Reverend Shaun Haggerty from Pastor at St. Lambert Parish, Sioux Falls to Pastor of St. John Paul II Parish, Harrisburg and Chaplain at Sanford USD Medical Center.

Reverend John Helmueller from Pastor at Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, Sioux Falls to Parochial Administrator at St. Mark Parish, Lake Andes and St. Paul the Apostle Parish, Armour.

Reverend DeWayne Kayser from Chaplain at Sanford USD Medical Center to Chaplain at Avera McKennen & University Health Center and Sacramental Minister at Sanford USD Medical Center

Reverend Paul King from Pastor of St. George Parish, Hartford and St. Ann Parish, Humboldt to Co-Pastor at St. Lambert Parish, Sioux Falls.

Reverend Anthony Klein from Chaplain at O'Gorman Junior High School and Parochial Vicar at Holy Spirit Parish, Sioux Falls to Vocations Advocate for the Diocesan Vocations Office, Chaplain at O'Gorman High School, and Sacramental Minister at the Cathedral of St. Joseph.

Reverend James Mason from President-Rector at Kenrick-Glennon Seminary to Pastor at Holy Spirit Parish, Sioux Falls, Co-Pastor at St. Lambert Parish, Sioux Falls, and Vicar for Clergy.

Reverend Jeffrey Norfolk from Parochial Vicar at the Cathedral of St. Joseph and Chaplain to the South Dakota State Penitentiary to Formator and Spiritual Director at St. John Vianney College Seminary, St. Paul, MN.

Reverend John Rutten from Pastor at St. John Paul II Parish, Harrisburg to Priest Director at St. Thomas More Newman Center at the University of South Dakota.

Reverend Timothy Smith from Pastor at Holy Cross Parish, Ipswich, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, Leola, and St. Thomas the Apostle Parish, Roscoe to Graduate Studies in Canon Law through St. Paul University, Ottawa.

Reverend Andrew Thuringer from Chaplain at O'Gorman High School, Sacramental Minister at the Cathedral of St. Joseph, and Discernment Assistant for the Diocesan Vocations Office to Parochial Administrator at St. George Parish, Hartford and St. Ann Parish, Humboldt.

Those with adjustments to their current pastoral assignment while remaining in their current role:

Reverend Jacob Doty, in addition to his current assignment as Parochial Vicar at St. Mary Parish, Sioux Falls, to Sacramental Minister at Our Lady of Guadalupe, Sioux Falls.

Reverend Joseph Forcelle, in addition to his current assignment as Pastor of St. Leo the Great Parish, Tyndall and St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Springfield, to Pastor of St. Wenceslaus Parish, Tabor.

Reverend Jim Friedrich, in addition to his current assignment as Pastor of Assumption Parish, Dante and St. John the Baptist Parish, Wagner, to Pastor of St. Paul Parish, Marty.

Revered Mark Lichter from Pastor at St. Wenceslaus, Tabor to remaining Pastor at St. John the Baptist Parish, Lesterville, St. George Parish, Scotland, and St. Boniface Parish, Idylwilde.

Reverend Scott Miller, in addition to his current assignment of Parochial Vicar at St. Michael Parish, Sioux Falls to Chaplain of O'Gorman Junior High School.

Reverend Shane Stevens from Pastor at St Joseph the Workman, Huntimer and St. Rose of Lima Parish, Garretson to remaining Pastor at St. Mary Parish, Dell Rapids.

In anticipation of their ordination to priesthood on May 27, 2022:

Reverend Nicholas Haiar to Parochial Vicar, St. Mary, Dell Rapids.

Reverend Mitchell McLaughlin to Parochial Vicar, Sacred Heart, St. Mary, and St. Thomas Aquinas Newman, Aberdeen.

Reverend Zachary Schaefbauer to Parochial Vicar, Holy Spirit, Sioux Falls.

Thank you for holding each of these priests and deacons in prayer as they undergo these transitions in their ministry.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mr. Matthew K. Althoff

Chancellor